The only way to buy diamonds since 1977

Call: 02 9232 2328 Free Call: 1800 034 266

Open 6 days a week 9am – 5pm

Contact us today. We will reply within 2 business hours.


Your Name:

Your Email:

Your Message:

Please enter the code below:

Diamond Clarity

GIA Clarity Scale

Because diamonds formed deep within the earth, under extreme heat and pressure, they often contain unique birthmarks called inclusions, which are imperfections within the diamond itself.

Every diamond is one of a kind. None is absolutely perfect under 10× magnification, except Flawless diamonds. These are extremely rare, so much so that most jewellers have never even seen one let alone sold one.

The GIA Clarity Scale contains 11 grades, with most diamonds falling into the VS (very slightly included) or SI (slightly included) categories. In determining a clarity grade, the GIA system considers the size, nature, position, colour or relief, and quantity of clarity characteristics visible under 10× magnification.




Flawless (FL) – No inclusions or blemishes are visible to a skilled grader using 10× magnification

Internally Flawless (IF) – No inclusions and only blemishes are visible to a skilled grader using 10× magnification

Very, Very Slightly Included (VVS1 and VVS2) – Inclusions are difficult for a skilled grader to see under 10× magnification

Very Slightly Included (VS1 and VS2) – Inclusions are minor and range from difficult to somewhat easy for a skilled grader to see under 10x magnification

Slightly Included (SI1 and SI2) – Inclusions are noticeable to a skilled grader under 10x magnification

Included (I1, I2, and I3) – Inclusions are obvious under 10× magnification and may affect transparency and brilliance

Diamond Clarity